top of page

Just Another Motivational Monday

What is Motivation? According to the Webster Dictionary motivation is the condition of being motivated. Well that didn't clear much up did it?



So let's put some synonyms here to clear things up a bit: boost, encouragement, incentive, momentum, stimulant...you get the gist of it, right?



So how do we find motivation if we are finding ourselves lacking it?


First things first, make a list. Someone once asked me what motivates me and I wasn't sure until I sat down and thought about it. The first thing that came to mind was my family. They motivate me every day to do better. Second, music. I find when I have to do menial tasks such as cleaning or folding, I need to put on music to get me through.


But what about the bigger things? For example, changing careers, studying a new career in college, losing weight, writing a poem, song, or book...what is the motivation then? How do we motivate ourselves?


First we must commit!


Then we must set goals. And we can't just set ANY goals, they have to be SMART Goals: Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant and Time Bound.


So if my desire is to lose 50 pounds, my first goal wouldn't be to lose all 50 pounds by a set time. I would need to start small, for example, I would say I want to lose 5 pounds in 2 weeks. It's specific, measurable, attainable, relevant, and time bound.


But I'm not here to tell you how to set SMART goals. If you'd like to read more about that, you can do so here.


I am here to tell you that YOU GOT THIS! You can and will be on top of the world.


There are no excuses. There are no reasons that you cannot put your mind to it and focus on what is going to make you happy. This is YOUR life, you only get one shot to make it great. So go out into the world, and stand on top of it. Make it yours. You are amazing and the reason someone, somewhere is smiling.










bottom of page